London in the Dark BLOG TOUR!!!

 

london-in-the-darkblog-tour-2Announcing… London in the Dark, by Victoria Lynn!!!

 

litd-book-cover-renewed

I love this cover!!!

London, 1910

Budding Private Detective Cyril Arlington Hartwell has a conundrum. London is being ravaged by the largest run of thefts in recent history. His hunch that it is all tied together may put him and those he loves in more danger than he could have reckoned.

Olivia Larken Hartwell is just home from boarding school for the summer anticipating time with her adoring parents. She misses her absent brother, Cyril, hoping for the day he will finally come home. But tragedy strikes, causing upheaval for all concerned and changes her life in a way she never could have imagined.

Olivia, Cyril, and their friends must bring the hidden to light, seek to execute justice, and dispel the darkness that hovers over London… and their hearts.

Title: London in the Dark

Author: Victoria Lynn

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction/Mystery

Rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Content: 5/5

My Review:

Aaaah!!! I loved this book! The storyline was well thought-out, and Victoria is very good at emotions. I was literally crying in spots (especially at the end)! The beginning was great, and the ending was OH SO GOOD!! The middle wasn’t quite so full of action, but it was still wonderful. I like how she put it all together into a marvelous book. 🙂 Now I need to rave a little:

The beginning:  I liked how the mystery started right away, SPOILER!! with the mysterious man at the dinner party. And the part with SPOILER!! the carriage accident, oh, that was so sad (and kind of a stunner-like, WHAT?!?!). *cries*

The middle: I liked how she peppered it with hints of what the ‘bad guys’ were doing, and showed Olivia’s emotions and how her brother treated her. 🙂

The end: This was my very favorite part of the book. The drama!!! WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS IN NEXT SENTENCE!!! Bancroft’s salvation, the almost-drowning, the wedding…. ❤

All in all, I would give this 5 stars all the way through. 🙂 Thank you for letting me review it, Victoria!

*I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*

The Author:

Victoria Lynn

Victoria Lynn is in her 20s and if she’s not writing, she is probably sewing, singing, playing the piano, washing dishes, creating something with her hands, or learning something new. She has a passion for serving her Creator, encouraging others and being creative. She blogs at www.rufflesandgrace.com about writing, fashion, modesty, her walk with God and life. She lives in Michigan with her parents and 8 siblings.

 

 

Add on Goodreads ~ Buy on Amazon

 

And… Da Interview!

  • Which is your favorite character?

Oh my! That is such a hard question to answer! It is like trying to pick your favorite child! *wails* Hmmmm. . . All of the main characters are my favorite. I love them for different reasons. Can I pick 4? Olivia, Cyril, Dudley and Bancroft. 😀

Olivia was probably my favorite, but I like the other three as well. 🙂

  • How long did it take for you to write London in the Dark?

The rough draft from outline to writing “the end” was 7-8 months. I write long hand with a pen and notebooks, so it took me a while, but at the same time, I think it took me less time than if I had typed it because I wasn’t distracted, which is what tends to happen when I am on the computer.

Yes, that makes sense. 🙂

  • Is anything in London based on happenings from your life? 

That is a REALLY good question. I would have to say only a little bit. I didn’t realize it at the time, but some of the relationships were similar to ones that I had experienced. Especially Olivia and Cyril’s. Not the same obviously, but similar feelings and emotions.

*doesn’t know what to say to that answer* 😛

  • What was your favorite scene to write?

OH dear. I have two in particular that come to mind. I loved writing the scene towards the middle where Dudley and Cyril are bantering/arguing back and forth. *grins* I loved that! The other scene was one of the main lynch-pin chapters in the middle. I don’t want to give anything away, but I will say it is the chapter where something suspenseful happens to Olivia in Cyril’s office. 😀

Oh, yes, I remember that part. 🙂 I can imagine that that must have been fun to write, although I can’t imaging how you could stand it. 😛

  • Who is your favorite author?

Goodness! You are good at coming up with hard questions! LOL! I have quite a few who are my favorites and they are all older books. How about my top 3? Gene Stratton Porter, Lucy Maud Montgomery, and Grace Livingston Hill.

I’ve only read books by Lucy Maud Montgomery (in that list). I don’t think I’ve even heard of Gene Stratton Porter! I’ll have to check him out! 🙂

Thank you so much for having me Leona! It was such a delight to answer your questions!

You are very welcome! I’m glad you had fun! 🙂

 

And, what’s more, there are a couple of giveaways!!

Giveaway on the blog for:

London giveaway and:

London in the Dark giveaway 2

Goodreads giveaway

For signed copy of London.

Please enter the giveaways!

Thank you all so much for reading! Please check out all the other blogs that are participating in this tour! You can find the full list on Victoria’s blog. 

 

Have you read London? Would you like to? (clue: answer is YES YES YES!!!) Would you like it if I did shorter blog tours (I know I tend to not read longer posts)? Comment below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

4 thoughts on “London in the Dark BLOG TOUR!!!

  1. Kellyn Roth says:

    Great review and interview! I love your questions and Victoria’s answers! And Victoria, it’s amazing that you love Gene Stratton Porter because she is the best! And you write longhand in a notebook?! Wow, that’s one of my goals. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

