Summer with the Moodys, by Sarah Maxwell

3774078

From Goodreads

Come along with the Moodys as they help a widowed neighbor, start small businesses for the children, enjoy a family fun night, live normal life, and wrap up the book with two special surprises! Woven throughout the book is the Moodys’ love for the Lord and their enjoyment of time together. Children (parents too!) will love Mr. and Mrs. Moody, Max, Mollie, Mitch, and Maddie—they’ll come away challenged and encouraged.” -from Goodreads

Title: Summer with the Moodys

Author: Sarah Maxwell

Genre: Christian Contemporary Fiction

Rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Content: 5/5

My Review:

I LOVED this book! Someone in our church was having me pre-read it for her, before she bought the whole series (I’m becoming known as a fast reader). IT WAS REALLY GOOD! There were a ton of Bible verses scattered without, and I loved seeing the Moody’s grow in the Lord. And it would also be a great book about the power of prayer SPOILER!!! they pray for a dog and a baby, and in the end, they get both (well, the baby technically wasn’t born yet, but…) SPOILER END!!!. This book would be great for ages 6-12; actually some of the reviews on the book say that five-year-olds liked it! The only thing that I didn’t like was that… well… their lives seemed a little perfect… there was only one minor fight that the kids had, and that doesn’t seem very realistic. I mean, my brothers? I won’t get into that. 😛 I think Miss Maxwell could have shown a little more disobedience; but showed that there are consequences. Overall, though, this was a wonderful book and I highly recommend it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

