The Mystery of the Midnight Trespasser, by Hosanna Emily

the mystery of the midnight trespasser

   “‘Rosy growled, and I knew she was pacing the porch. I sensed her uneasiness. Something was wrong. Rosy never barked at cars; why would she choose this one?’

   “13 year-old Emily Kessler believes in God, but when she discovers someone trespassing in the middle of the night, can she learn to trust in Him completely? Will she have the courage to solve the mystery with her friends? And when everything falls apart, will Emily be able to keep those she loves safe?” ~from Goodreads

Title: The Mystery of the Midnight Trespasser

Author: Hosanna Emily

Genre(s): Christian, Contemporary, Mystery/Suspense

Rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Content: 5/5

My Review:

I have been wanting to read this book for a while, and I finally got a chance to. I really enjoyed it! Hosanna Emily did a great job writing this book. I was reading an e-copy, so it could just be that, but I did notice a number of typos. I’m kind of persnickety about that. 😉
This book was well-rounded. I like how it was from a first-person POV (I think that’s what it’s called??). The Kessler kids & friends reminded me of my siblings and myself. 🙂 We enjoy playing in the woods by my grandparents’ house. Parts of the book were a bit confusing; at one point one or two of Emily’s siblings (I can’t remember how many) appear, when they weren’t mentioned earlier. I do like the mystery, however. It was very exciting. 😉
I read a negative review on Goodreads, in which the reader “complained” that the kids didn’t talk to their parents about the mystery. I would agree that that is misfortunate, but I have noticed that this is a common theme in mystery books (the Boxcar Children, Nancy Drew, etc.). I would say that the author could have done a better job showing parental involvement, etc, but I would also say that it did make the story more scary/interesting/etc. *shrugs*
All in all, this was a pretty good book, and I would definitely recommend it. It was clean, and Bible verses were used throughout (although I must say that I was disappointed that the American Standard Version was used {since I am a firm believer in the KJB}).

Have you read this book? Is it on your TBR? Please comment below with your opinions!

Aaannnddd… this has nothing to do with this book, but just to let ya’ll know, I am going on vacation next week, and will not be able to post. I will try to schedule a post, but WordPress doesn’t always co-operate when I try that, so… we’ll see! 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Mystery of the Midnight Trespasser, by Hosanna Emily

  1. Snowy says:

    Good work, Leona
    I’ll remember this book if I need anything to read.
    The Boxcar Children is on my TBR list.
    I hope you enjoy your vacation next week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

