Why do we write?

What should we read? and Why do we write? post graphics

 

Why do we write?

This is a question that I have been thinking about lately. With Nanowrimo coming up, many writers are getting excited! We are going to write new novels! This is a good thing, but I believe that we need to think about why we are writing, or really, for whom.

Are we writing for ourselves? so people will think good of us? so we will become famous?

Or are we writing for God? so that He will be glorified? so that He will be honored?

This is something that I personally have been thinking about, and I have been questioning myself. Yes, it would be fun to write, and it would be a good experience, and who can resist becoming a published author. But why am I doing this?

For those who are wondering, I still am planning on doing Nanowrimo. But I am going to try my best not to allow pride to creep into my heart. I am going to do this for God’s glory, and not my own.

 

Sign-off

 

Are you an author?

Are you doing Nanowrimo?

Have you struggled with why you write?

 

9 thoughts on “Why do we write?

Leave a Reply

