Mr. Pipes and Psalms and Hymns of the Reformation

Amazon.com: Mr. Pipes and Psalms and Hymns of the Reformation ...

“This novel is the second book in the Mr. Pipes series which provides teens with an engaging study of the historical backgrounds of several hymns from the Reformation era. Annie and Drew continue their adventures with Mr. Pipes as they retrace the steps of some of the great hymn writers of the sixteenth century. Grades 7-10.” ~from Goodreads.com

Title: Mr. Pipes and Psalms and Hymns of the Reformation

Author: Douglas Bond

Genre(s): Christian Children’s Fiction

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ (four stars)

Romance Content: N/A

Recommended age range: 12+

My Review:

This was an interesting book! I enjoyed the story as well as the history.

I should have guessed, based on the title, that I wouldn’t agree with the author’s take on history. But since I did not guess that (or rather, didn’t think about it), I was disappointed on the entirely favorable view of Martin Luther, John Calvin, and other Reformers. While I do appreciate them for their bold stance for the Word of God and other doctrines, I do not agree with them fully on other doctrines, such as infant baptism, Calvinism, etc. The main characters also attend a Lutheran church as well as some others that I wasn’t clear on the denomination of. For these reasons, I would recommend that this book be read out loud for children/young teens, perhaps, with the adult giving some extra history and insight into why we don’t fully support Luther and Calvin.

This was an interesting, well written, and enjoyable book. I enjoyed learning more about Europe and history, and there were some fun moments and good lessons as well. Because of the aforementioned reasons, I cannot recommend it without reservations, but if you keep those things in mind, I still think it’s a good book.

*I know that Calvin, Luther, and their doctrines can be a controversial issue. I do not desire to start an argument about this, and neither am I an expert on it.

4 thoughts on “Mr. Pipes and Psalms and Hymns of the Reformation

  1. cattknithat says:

    Hi! I started to follow your blog a few months ago on my WordPress app. I saw you were listing some good books to read, and I love to read.

    WordPress looks different on my phone than on my computer. This post made me wonder what you believe and just today I discovered that you were a Baptist.

    It’s nice to meet you! I am a Baptist too.

Have you read this book?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.