Modern Prairie Sewing, by Abigail A. Long

   “Gone are the days of confusing instructions and difficult patterns. With this book, Modern Prairie Sewing, you’ll discover that sewing doesn’t have to be complicated at all. The 20 cleverly thought-out projects develop technical skills and include the author’s secret sewing tricks to guarantee success. Some designs add design details that are cute and clever and, as a bonus, raise your skill level. A box pleat or gusset may seem fancy and complicated, but with this guide, they are totally doable.” -Google Book

Title: Modern Prairie Sewing

Author: Abigail A. Long

Genre(s): Non-fiction, DIY, crafting

Rating: https://openclipart.org/image/2400px/svg_to_png/243661/1457652300.pnghttps://openclipart.org/image/2400px/svg_to_png/243661/1457652300.pnghttps://openclipart.org/image/2400px/svg_to_png/243661/1457652300.pnghttps://openclipart.org/image/2400px/svg_to_png/243661/1457652300.pnghttps://openclipart.org/image/2400px/svg_to_png/243661/1457652300.png

Romance Content: None; this is a non-fiction book. 😛

Recommended age range: 7+ with help, 13+ without

My Review:

One of my best friends recommended this book to me, and I’m glad that she did! It is really cool. The directions are simple and easy to follow, and most of the clothes are modest (in one of the pictures, the girl is wearing a tight shirt with a jacket over it, and I don’t consider that very modest; other than that, it’s fine). 🙂 I’m currently making the Riverwalk Skirt:

Picture credit: Abigail Long

ISN’T IT BEAUTIFUL?!? 😀 Hopefully mine will look that good. 😉

The pictures are simply gorgeous… ❤ ❤ ❤ which brings me to the one bad thing about this book- it is likely to make you jealous. Just sayin’. 😀

I would most certainly recommend this book, but I would also recommend having a person who knows how to sew help you; some of the projects are kinda tricky. If you don’t have someone helping you, I would recommend doing the pillowcase. It’s cute, and you don’t need a lot of skills to make it (I personally haven’t made it, but it looks super easy).

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Modern Prairie Sewing, by Abigail A. Long

      • Lilly W. says:

        I like Ms. Figgy’s Garment School for Girls. There are a few things I don’t like about it, but the skirts are great! (review here: https://adaughterservingtheking.blogspot.com/2020/04/ms-figgys-garment-school-for-girls-by.html ) Sewing School’s Fashion Design is good too, though some of the skirts/dresses are too short (but you can always make them longer.) A Kid’s Guide to Sewing is also a favorite, but again, some of the clothes don’t meet my modesty standards. (The tiered skirt is so fun to make!) That’s the only ones I know of so far…. Do you have any more recommendations?

        • Leona says:

          I thought of another sewing book I like!! It’s “Sew Classic Clothes for Girls: 20 Girls’ Dresses, Outfits and Accessories from the Cottage Mama”, by Lindsay Wilkes. We borrowed it from the library, and it’s been a while, so I don’t remember if there was anything immodest in it (probably, since it’s not Christian). However, I love the coats that my mom made using that book, and if I remember right there were some really cute projects in it. 🙂

          • Lilly W. says:

            I’ve heard of Fresh Modesty’s books…..and I’ve wanted to get the swimwear book for a while now. The other book looks super interesting too!
            I’ll have to do reviews on the other sewing books. (I’ve been wanting to for a while now, but now I have a reason. 🙂) Thanks for the recommendations!

Have you read this book?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.